I loved Singapore. I really enjoyed my last visit there in 2007 and I can’t wait until the next. The city offers so much that you won’t run out of things to do.

Here are some of the things I particularly loved about that fine, fine city (haha no pun intended):

10. The Merlion. I don’t know what it is about a half-lion, half-merman that I find so appealing. Rawr.
picture-043.jpg

9. Hanging out with the birds in Jurong Bird Park.

I love this photo:

birdpark2-030.jpg

Check out the Pink Flamingos:

birdpark1-078.jpg

8. The Esplanade! I guess the novelty of seeing a building shaped like a durian brought out the sentimental dabawenya in me. haha

picture-030.jpg

The Phantom of the Opera was showing during our visit so we got to watch it on our last day there. Here’s my sister Mina camwhoring after the show:

img_7019.jpg

7. The Singapore Art & Culture Scene. My sister and I checked out the Asian Civilization Museum during our last visit. They have an impressive collection of Asian artifacts. Check these out:

day-one-036.jpg

day-one-022.jpg

We were also lucky to have caught an outdoor rendition of William Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream in Fort Canning. It was the first time (in 10 years, I think) that they were staging an outdoor production of a play in Singapore and we caught the first show! It was brilliant! They used the whole park as the stage–characters were walking from one end to the other! They built this really big box-like stage in the middle, and during the play’s ending, Puck went to stand on top to deliver his parting shots. The weather totally cooperated that night and there was just enough clouds in the sky and the moon was in its full glory and it was reaaally magical.

One word — sublime. ๐Ÿ™‚

And the fact that the guys playing Lysander and Demetrius were hot didn’t hurt either. Hehehe.

day-one-172.jpg

We wanted to check out the National Museum but there wasn’t enough time. We did get to catch Superstrings by Joshua Yang, an ongoing exhibit at The Esplanade. It’s a series of single continuous line drawings on rolls of canvas stretched across wooden frames and are patterns of randomness. Choice of his subjects are of mundane objects. My kind of art. I saw all my doodles come to life.

picture-074.jpg

And Singapore is just littered with art—everywhere you go, art. Even in the MRT stations, you see mosaics and historical signage. I wish we could do the same for the art scene here in the Philippines. ๐Ÿ™‚

day-one-002.jpg

day-one-0031.jpg

6. Clarke Quay – where I met you-know-who! hahaha crazy!

day-one-077.jpg

That same night, I decided to break out of my shell. Figured I’d conquer at least one of my fears before my trip was over.

We were also near plenty of sources of alcohol so that helped. Ahehe. Alet and I went on the GMAX Reverse Bungy at Clarke Quay. It’s like bungy jumping, only instead of leaping from a building or a bridge, they strap you to this globular contraption and catapult you a couple of hundred feet up into the air. It was the ultimate adrenaline rush!!!

5. Shopping in Little India and Chinatown!

day-one-010.jpg

day-one-148.jpg

My sister and I went crazy with the Indian trinkets and tapestries. We were very amused by the indian guy selling us the tapestries because he made us feel like we got the fabrics at a bargain as he kept returning some of our money back in this sly this-is-our-secret manner. Bet he still had a lot of patong from that sale though!

day-one-0181.jpg

4. THE FOOD!!! Singapore is a melting pot of different cultures so there is always variety when it comes to food–Indian, Indonesian, Singaporean, Chinese, even Mediterranean and European cuisines.

day-one-106.jpg

day-one-014.jpg

picture-164.jpg

day-one-037.jpg

YUM!

3. Strolling along the Chinese & Japanese Gardens. This is my favorite place in Singapore. It was just lovely and so reminiscent of my favorite Chinese and Japanese films. I felt like I was in the set of Memoirs of a Geisha or Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. I half-expected Ken Watanabe to show up and give me a private tour. Haha

day-one-012.jpg

day-one-079.jpg

dsc01656.jpg

dsc01713.jpg

And the gardens are open to the public. Free entrance and very accessible from the MRT. I loved it there. If I lived in Singapore, I’d go to the gardens every week!

2. Sentosa Island. Your Singapore visit wouldn’t be complete without a trip to Sentosa. Although I have to admit it was a bit overhyped but I still loved how they really made the place so tourist-friendly. There were shuttles taking you from one end of the island and you don’t even have to pay anymore. Free rides everyday. ๐Ÿ™‚
picture-099.jpg

The beach…well it wasn’t so bad. But they do not stand a chance against the lovely beaches we have here in Pinas. As in not even close!

picture-120.jpg

ridephoto.jpg

1. Traveling with my sister is always a blast. She attracts the most interesting characters:

day-one-076.jpg

day-one-082.jpg

picture-059.jpg

Of course, visiting my gorgeous friend Alet is always a plus!

birdpark2-057.jpg

Ahem. You owe me. ๐Ÿ˜›

