My second trip to Dumaguete was quite different from my first. It was one not of exploration (we didn’t venture out of town proper) but really more of rest and relaxation. My itinerary this trip varied from the one Igor had prepared for me. This one was painstakingly organized by my officemate Leah and it revolved around one important theme–FOOD.

sony-handy-cam-pics-038

Yes, this time around, I ate my way around Dumaguete. Our first stop was, of course, our hotel. Bethel Inn. I stayed here the last time and the inn’s hospitalish interiors felt like home. I love how the place is familiar to me now. Of course, it still does not change the fact that every time I walk through its halls, I can’t help but conjure images of ghosts popping out of nowhere to chase the living daylights out of me. Seriously, this is part of Dumaguete’s charm for me. The town has this antique feel to it that it’s no wonder writers come here for inspiration.

At the ground level of Bethel is Cafe Filomena, where we had our daily dose of budbod kabog and fried danggit. And hot tsokolate. It’s the best way to jumpstart a Dumaguete food trip. You can’t go to Dumaguete and NOT eat budbod. It’s just not right.:P

I also got to check out Persian Palate. I didn’t get to eat there during my last trip and I’m glad I went because I’ve been having ridiculous lassi and kebab cravings in Manila, and their banana lassi and chicken kebab with buttered rice (to hell with calories) left me feeling satisfied.

A trip to the restaurant is a must not only because of the food but also because of the lovely murals on the walls.

You can also be like Jeff here and have your picture taken with the lady on the wall as if she were your girlfriend! Bwahaha

This being Jeff’s first time in Dumaguete (actually it is also his first time to ride a plane and he is 23 years old if I am not mistaken), we simply had to take him to Sansrival. It is a patisserie along the boulevard that serves the best sans rival. Why else would they name the restaurant after it? 😛 I don’t usually eat sans rival because I hate food that requires extreme chewing effort but the one they bake here in Dumaguete is different from most of the sans rivals I’ve tasted. It’s surprisingly light and buttery and Jeff actually stacked THREE slices to eat in one sitting. Haha! Leah had this one (I forgot what it’s called but it’s made of dates and chocolate and something else that’s chewy):

Other places we hit for purely camwhoring purposes:

Siliman University. Where we spent half a morning lounging on a picnic table playing games of the kindergarten kind. Hehe

sony-handy-cam-pics-039

The local church. Where we thought we’d lost Jeff only to see him buying peanuts from one of the market vendors. Haha

sony-handy-cam-pics-044

The city’s capitol building. Where there were kids in taekwondo uniforms running around the field. And, weird, but I feel an odd sense of deja vu whenever I see the mountain behind the building. I dreamt about it way back but I’ve never even set foot on Negros then. Some things you just can’t explain even if you tried.

We also went to Sidlakang Negros Village for the Buglasan Festival. It was interesting seeing the display of products and traditions of the different provinces of Negros.

Of course, my favorite part of Dumaguete is still Rizal Boulevard. This time around, I got to experience the boulevard at sunrise. It’s weird because I could never wake up before the break of dawn in Manila. I think it’s mainly because I dread going to work. But every time I am on holiday, I make it a point to catch the sunrise. With views like these, it is definitely worth sacrificing my sleep hours (thank you, Leah, for waking us up! hehehe):

sony-handy-cam-pics-087

sony-handy-cam-pics-102

I love how the sun’s rays hit the lamp posts. It appeals to the (hopeless) romantic in me. 🙂

And what vacation would be complete without a couple of jumping shots?? hahaha! Check out me and Leah:

n1010841528_30180050_3098

n1010841528_30180042_8734

